Day 6 & 7

Well Thursday was a very early start, with Physio at 7:30am before work. Didn’t wake early enough for breakfast. Or to do my exercises, but I figured I’m going to the Physio so it doesn’t matter too much. Breakfast was a carrot on the walk there. Forgot about the vitamins. Afterwards I stopped off to pick up cupcakes. The new delivery wasn’t in so I had an old gluten free one for me and got some Raw ones for everyone else. I know a carrot and a cupcake was not the best breakfast. It wasn’t even a nice cupcake. Stale cake and gritty icing.

Work is still giving out fruit so I snacked on that at tea break. I meant to get a burrito after work. Was really craving spicy. But when work ended I completely forgot and headed straight for the train.

Groceries were needed. I was out of meals. This is the whole planning and preparing thing. Trying to decided in the shop what I was going to make and what I needed to buy. Okay not so much with the planning. $60 later I’m heading home to start cooking.

Dish one is the curry quinoa again. I get mad when I realise I’d forgotten the spinach. I’d picked up green beans to pad it out into an extra meal but forgotten the spinach. But it’s wet and I really can not be bothered going back for it. Then I realise I’ve also forgotten the almond milk. Well it will just have to stay forgotten.

Curry is on the go. I put on rice to make fried rice with. The beans certainly do bulk out the curry. But I can only find 4 of the containers I want for it. What doesn’t fit in them is eaten out of the pot. I pick at veggies while I chop them. I eat a lot of broccoli stalk.

Fried rice is done and portioned up. Then I start on Peanutty Quinoa Bowls with Baked Tofu. I don’t own a whisk. And don’t want to dirty another bowl. I have more than enough to wash up already. So I put all the sauce ingredients in the pot with the quinoa. I steam the broccoli and put it to one side. I do the capsicum, adding in garlic and peanuts and then but the broccoli back in and wait for the quinoa to cook. Then mix them all in together. This is enough for three containers (meals) worth.

I prob should have started marinating the tofu before I staring cooking anything. Meh. I lay it out on a tray and coat one side with sesame oil and tamarin and put it under the grill. When it looks done I pull it out, coat the other side the same and put it back under. Not sure what it is supposed to end up like but the have something that is very tough and solid on the outside and soft in the middle. I like it.

So after 3 hours work I have 11 meals put away. I’ve picked at so much I don’t really feel like dinner. Just as well I bought some popcorn! Who am I kidding. I was always planning on having this for dinner. Physio and vitamins and the washing up all done and I’m done for the day.

Day 7

Day off. Yay. Breakfast is a no go as I forgot to buy the almond milk. So I eat some of the fried rice I made for dinner. Fried rice, puffed rice. Kinda the same thing. I have once again forgotten to take the berries out of the freezer.

Physio, vitamins and the computer games. Yay Friday.

Curry for lunch and then I need a nap. I know it’s a bad idea. I know this. But I do it anyway. I wake up a little after 8pm. And spend most of the night regretting my decision. This week has had 2 naps and 3 early nights. I thought I was supposed to have more energy on a gluten free diet. But I feel so tired.

In recap of the week I have cooked 3 times. I have done my physio every day. I have taken my vitamins. I’ve bought lunch only once. And only 2 of my meals have been potato chips. And one popcorn. Okay those last ones are not so good but I can try better for next week.

Leave a Reply

